Week 5 Blog Post – Treasure Chest: Modelling

This week I will be documenting my creation of a treasure chest asset, to be used in a short animation.

I had already attempted a treasure chest, but it was just a practice so that I could get used to modelling.

A chest I made for practice
A chest I made for practice

I decided to make my new chest with a simple design, and more cartoon-like than the first. First I made a polygon cube roughly the shape I wanted.

Starting with a simple cube
Starting with a simple cube

I divided the cube with edge loops to extrude from.

Dividing the shape with edge loops
Dividing the shape with edge loops

Next I indented the faces on the front, sides and back. The protruding faces are going to be metal bands holding the chest together. I also pushed the top of the box inward.

Contracting the bottom of the chest and indenting the panels
Contracting the bottom of the chest and indenting the panels

The next step was to create the lid of the box. I wanted the chest to be comically shaped, so I made the lid tall and had the metal bands protrude further than they would normally

The lid of the chest
The lid of the chest

When I got to the lock, I wanted to make a simple-shaped object rather than having a 3D keyhole. This was because when I made the practice chest, I made the lock a part of the lid and the extra edge loops made it way too complicated. With this model, I made the lock separate because I thought that I might want to animate it rotate or shake. The actual keyhole part of the lock will be added through the texture.

Making the lock
Making the lock

I tried to make handles for either side of the chest, but then I decided to leave them out, because they didn’t look quite right and I didn’t have enough time to fix them.

Testing with handles
Testing with handles

This is my chest model that I’m going to use in the animation. The next step will be to create a texture for it.

Final Chest
Final Chest

Leave a comment